Free calculator

Stock Royalty Calculator

Type a sale price in US dollars and see what one video sale pays you on Adobe Stock, Shutterstock and Pond5, from the rate each one states on its own contributor pages. Every figure links to the page it comes from, read on 2026-09-27.

Every rate here is stated against US dollar prices. Nothing is converted.

Your Pond5 agreement

At $100.00: Adobe Stock $35.00. Shutterstock $15.00 to $40.00. Pond5 $30.00.

  • Adobe Stock

    35% of the sale price, rounded up to the cent

    $35.00

    Of the sale price, at US pricing. Adobe Stock licenses non-exclusively.

    “35% royalties” (under "video" in the earnings breakdown)

    Source: Adobe Stock contributor royalties page (opens in a new tab), read on 2026-09-27

  • Shutterstock

    15% to 40% across 6 video levels

    $15.00 to $40.00

    Of the price the customer paid for the licence. Your video level, counted from downloads this calendar year, sets where you fall in the span.

    Your level sets the figure inside this span. The rate of each level is on a page we could not read, so no level is guessed.

    “There are 6 separate earnings levels for images and for videos, ranging from 15% up to 40%.”

    Source: Shutterstock contributor help centre (opens in a new tab), read on 2026-09-27

  • Pond5

    30% as a non-exclusive contributor

    $30.00

    Of the Net Revenue: your price, plus any Extended License charge, minus a legal guarantee fee and any discount. The page does not state the fee, so this is the share of the price you entered.

    “Exclusive video contributors receive 40% revenue share. Non-exclusive video contributors receive 30% revenue share.”

    Source: Pond5 contributor portal, payout overview (opens in a new tab), read on 2026-09-27

Not included

  • Getty Images: not included, we could not read its own page.

    Its public iStock page (served to us in French) states one span for every file type and agreement: “Depending on your contributor agreement, you will earn royalties between 15% and 45% on each file license.” (our translation). That is not a video rate, so nothing is computed. Source: iStock contributor page (opens in a new tab), read on 2026-09-27

For comparison: Wirestock, an umbrella account, took about 15% commission and stopped distributing to stock marketplaces in January 2026 (checked on 2026-09-24). Rushlot takes no commission: you upload to your own accounts.

What Adobe Stock’s page states per video download

The page lists an earning per download for each buyer’s plan rather than a price, so these are shown as stated and not computed.

Buyer’s planSubscriberEarnings per download
10 credits per monthMonthly subscriber$8.40
25 credits per monthMonthly / Annual subscriber$7.84 / $5.60
40 credits per monthMonthly / Annual subscriber$5.25 / $4.20
350 credits per monthMonthly / Annual subscriber$4.55 / $3.85
750 credits per monthMonthly / Annual subscriber$3.50 / $2.80
HD - 16-500 credit pack or on-demand$22.40 to $28.00
4K - 40-500 credit pack or on-demand$56.00 to $70.00

“Earnings per download are based on pricing for US customers.” “Earnings per download are rounded up to the nearest cent.” Source: Adobe Stock contributor royalties page (opens in a new tab), read on 2026-09-27

Pages we tried and could not read
  • Adobe Stock, the detailed royalty rules: https://helpx.adobe.com/stock/contributor/help/royalty-details.html. Answered 403 to a plain request.
  • Adobe Stock, the royalty rates by asset type: https://helpx.adobe.com/stock/contributor/payments-earnings/royalties-pricing/royalty-rates-assets.html. Answered 403 to a plain request.
  • Shutterstock, the rate of each of the six levels and the downloads each needs: https://submit.shutterstock.com/payouts. Answered with a browser-support notice instead of the table.
  • Shutterstock, the contributor terms: https://submit.shutterstock.com/legal/terms?language=en. Answered with a browser-support notice.
  • Pond5, the contributor agreement: https://www.pond5.com/legal/contributor. Answered 403 to a plain request.
  • Getty Images, the istock rate card: https://contributors.gettyimages.com/article_public.aspx?article_id=5210. Returned a page title and no content without a browser.
  • Getty Images, the royalties guide: https://contributors.gettyimages.com/help/article/5191. Returned a page title and no content without a browser.
  • Getty Images, the istock exclusivity rates: https://contributors.gettyimages.com/article/5273. Returned a page title and no content without a browser.
  • Getty Images, the getty images contributor rate card: https://accountmanagement.gettyimages.com/Content/rateCard/unified5_english.pdf. Answered 404.

How each marketplace pays for a video sale

Adobe Stock pays 35% on video, against US pricing, and rounds each earning up to the cent. It licenses non-exclusively, so there is no exclusive rate to choose.

Shutterstock has six video levels, from 15% up to 40% of the price the customer paid. Your level climbs with downloads during the calendar year and resets to level 1 every January 1. When a share comes to less than $0.10, Shutterstock pays $0.10. Its help centre gives the span, and the rate of each level sits on a page that would not load without a browser, so the calculator shows the span rather than a guess at your level.

Pond5 pays 40% to exclusive video contributors and 30% to non-exclusive ones, of the Net Revenue: the price you set in US dollars, plus any Extended License charge, minus a legal guarantee fee and any discount.

Why the percentage is not the whole story

The price a rate applies to depends on how the buyer paid. On a subscription, Adobe Stock’s page lists a fixed earning per video download for each plan, from $8.40 on a 10-credit monthly plan down to $2.80 on a 750-credit annual one, against $22.40 to $28.00 for an HD clip bought on demand. Shutterstock works out a pack or subscription share on the price per asset, as if the buyer used the whole allowance.

The licence counts too. Shutterstock sells Standard and Enhanced licences, and a Pond5 Extended License adds its charge to the Net Revenue. Two marketplaces with the same rate can pay very differently for the same clip.

Who is left out, and why

Getty Images is not in the calculator. Its contributor rate cards returned no content without a browser, and we do not work around a page that refuses. Its public iStock page states one span for every file type and agreement, 15% to 45%, which is not a video rate.

No one between you and the marketplace

An umbrella account sits between you and the marketplaces and keeps a share. Wirestock worked that way, taking about 15% commission, and stopped distributing to stock marketplaces in January 2026. Rushlot takes no commission: it uploads to your own accounts, and each marketplace pays you directly.

Quick tips

  • Open the linked page before you rely on a figure. Marketplaces change their rates, which is why each one here carries the date we read it.
  • On Pond5 you set your own price in US dollars, so enter your list price to see your share.
  • Your Shutterstock video level shows in the Dashboard of your contributor account, and it resets to level 1 each January 1.
  • Before you judge a month on Adobe Stock, compare a subscription download with an on-demand sale in the table under the calculator.

Limits

What this tool cannot check

  • Currencies are not converted. Every rate kept here is stated against US dollar prices, so enter US dollars.
  • Taxes, withholding and payout fees are not included. Pond5’s page, for one, states a 4% fee on each payout made through Skrill.
  • Rates change. Each figure carries the date we read its page, 2026-09-27, and the linked page is the authority.
  • Getty Images is left out: its contributor rate pages showed no content without a browser, and we do not work around a refusal.
  • Shutterstock shows as a span because the rate of each level is on a page we could not read. Its minimum is stated as $0.10, which we read as US dollars.
  • Pond5 does not state its legal guarantee fee, so its figure is the share of the price you enter.
  • Adobe Stock’s detailed royalty help pages refused a plain request. Its 35% comes from its contributor royalties page.
  • Amounts show to the cent. Only Adobe Stock states how it rounds (up to the cent); for the others the exact share is kept and only the display rounds it.

Want the full picture? Read stock video submission tools compared for 2026.